Interstate Medical Licensure Compact providing expedited licensure in 28 states in 2020

Last updated: September 22, 2020

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission (IMLC) is now processing applications for expedited licensure in 28 states and one territory. This makes the process for obtaining a medical license in these states simpler if you already hold your primary license in one of the participating states.

The IMLC creates another pathway for licensure and does not otherwise change a state’s existing Medical Practice Act. The IMLC also adopts a uniform and stringent standard for licensure and affirms that the practice of medicine occurs where the patient is located at the time of the physician-patient encounter. Upon licensure via the IMLC, the physician will be under the jurisdiction of the medical board in the state where the patient is located.

States currently accepting applications for multi-state licensure

There are currently 28 states and one territory accepting applications for multi-state licensure:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Georgia*
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Oklahoma*
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont*
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • Washington

*Because Georgia, Oklahoma, and Vermont are not states of principle licensure (SPL), so you can’t enter into the compact with a GA, OK, or VT license. However, you can get a licence to practice in these states by entering the compact through another SPL state.

Other states that are part of the compact

The following states, territories, and districts are part of the compact, but have not yet implemented full participation:

  • District of Columbia
  • Pennsylvania

The following states have had legislation introduced to join the compact:

  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina


To qualify to participate in this program a physician must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Possess an active, full and unrestricted medical license in an SPL state and are a resident, have at least 25 percent of their medical practice, or are employed by an entity in one of those states.
  • Be a graduate of a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation, or a medical school listed in the International Medical Education Directory.
  • Passed each component of the U.S. Medical Licensing Examination or the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination within three attempts, or any predecessor examinations accepted by the state medical board in which you hold your primary license.
  • Successfully completed graduate medical education approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association.
  • Hold an active, time-limited specialty certification or a lifetime specialty certificate recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association.
  • Never been convicted, received adjudication, deferred adjudication, community supervision, or deferred disposition for a felony, gross misdemeanor, or crime of moral turpitude.
  • Never held a medical license subjected to discipline by a licensing agency in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction, excluding any action related to non-payment of fees related to a medical license.
  • Never had a controlled substance license or permit suspended or revoked by a state or the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration.
  • Is not under active investigation by a licensing agency or law enforcement authority in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction.

For more information on the compact, visit or call the Weatherby Healthcare’s credentialing department at 954.837.2355. To be contacted with information about locum tenens jobs in these states, complete the form below.

About the author


Spencer Sutherland

Spencer Sutherland is the senior public relations manager at CHG Healthcare Services and has been writing about healthcare for more than a decade.


Click here to post a comment

  • I am in PA and have bulk of my practice here but have IL and IA licenses too with some (minimal) work in those states. Can I apply for it ? What’s the status on PA, Will it be available soon??

  • Denying physicians without the dubious imprimatur of board certification of practicing in these states, simply denies needed access at a time of increasing burnout and retirement. Your tax dollars (residency) not at work!

    • Hi Mireya, I’m not familiar with any similar compact for PAs at the moment, but we’ll be sure to update readers if we receive any information about one in the future.


Request a custom job search.

First name
Last name
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.